Dunlop Day At Isle of Man Dainese Superbike Race 2013



Dunlop Day At Isle of Man Dainese Superbike Race

Isle of Man TT clerk of the course Gary Thompson postponed Saturday’s Dainese Superbike Race until Sunday evening in order for more practice to take place because of the wet weather conduction during the week. Sunday evening at 3pm saw the new start time with weather in favour for racing over the 37.7 miles famous mountain TT course.

In the early stages of the six lap race we saw race leader Gary Johnston aboard his Italian MV Agusta pull away until he was reeled in by local County Antrim rider Michael Dunlop aboard his Honda TT Legends Superbike who then took control from that point on.

The 24-year-old Dunlop in true form had an opening lap of 130.842mph and a 3.2 second lead over Tyco Suzuki rider Guy Martin with Gary Johnson holding onto third ahead of teammate McGuinness and Honda mounted Cameron Donald and Bruce Anstey.

McGuinness made a remarkable first pit stop getting away again six seconds quicker than all the rest of the field while the early leader Gary Johnston only made it as far as the Nook and ran out of fuel.

On the last lap the Morecombe Missile John McGuinness upped his pace to close in on Guy Martin and take third place breaking his old lap record while Michael Dunlop eased off with over 30 seconds in the lead to take the comfortable win on his first ever Superbike win. Michael was over the moon with his win, he has always sought a TT Superbike win and to day his dreams came true.

To mark the 30th anniversary of Joey’s Dunlop first Isle of Man TT win with Honda, his former teammate and Honda TT Legends rider John McGuinness turned out in a yellow helmet and race replica leathers that joey would have worn in his last ever TT race.  Afterwards Dunlop commented that he never had the chance to race along side his uncle but today as he followed McGuinness in his “Joey Leathers” with his smooth race lines he could almost imagine himself racing with Joey. 




Race results.

1. M. Dunlop, 2 C. Donald, 3. J McGuinness, 4 G. Martin, 5 C Cummins, 6 M. Rutter, 7 J. Hiller, 8 B. Anstey, 9 W. Dunlop, 10 J. Brookes.





 Copyright © 2011 Captured Creations