Hillier Takes Maiden Win On Lightweight (IOM TT 2013)



Jamie Hamilton flying high first local man to finish


On Friday the last day of racing at the Isle of Man TT races got under way with the first of two races the Bikesocial Lightweight Superstwins at 10.15am.  The Met Office predicted light winds, dry roads and temperatures up to 21°C, so the competition was going to be hot and fast.  Michael Dunlop decided to opt out of this race and concentrate on the Blue-ribbon Senior TT race, the last race of TT 2013.

Three laps of the greulling mountain course with only one pit stop got away on time.  Lap one saw Bradford rider Dean Harrison move into the slender lead of 0.5 seconds ahead of James hillier and third place Ivan Lintin at Glen Helen.  That had all changed by Ramsey Hairpin as Hillier had pulled out a 1.6 second lead on Harrison leaving Lintin still in third.

On lap two Ivan Linton was the new race leader as he didn’t stop for fuel and gained over a 14 second lead but Hillier had broken the old lap record and now was standing at 117.959 mph and by the time they finished the lap Hillier was in the lead by 3.5 seconds.

In the last lap there was no stopping Hillier aboard his Quattro Plant Kawasaki Ninja 650Ras he crossed the line at an impressive 119.130mph breaking the lap record once again - nearly four miles an hour up on Michael Rutter’s record from 2012 and also setting a new race record of 57.42 minutes.  Second place went to Dean Harrison and third place local man, Conor Cummins from Ramsey on the KMR Mounted Kawasaki Ninja 650R.  Team boss Ryan Farquhar who had three of his bikes finish in the top six later said “there was a few changes made to the bikes which made them a little quicker and the class was going from strength to strength”.

Jamie Hamilton our first local rider home got a great 5th place result also aboard a KMR Kawasaki Ninja 650R. This is only the 22 year old’s second year to race at this event.





Race results.

1. J. Hillier, 2. D. Harrison, 3. C. Cummins, 4. I Lintin, 5. J. Hamilton, 6. M. Rutter, 7. C. Donald, 8. C. Palmer, 9. L. Johnston, 10. I. Lougher.






Copyright © 2011 Captured Creations