Mid Antrim 150 Aug (2013) 

 Hamilton And Sweeney Double Up At Mid Antrim 150

The County Antrim village of Clough was once again the setting for the 67th annual Mid Antrim 150 Motorcycle Road Race. Poorly missing from the line up of riders were the Ballymoney Dunlop brothers. This is the second year in a row that William and Michael have declined to race at this meeting. There was a noticeable spectator drop on practice and race day but not knowing the problem one can only speculate as to why.


          Jamie Hamilton takes  his  maiden won in the Supersport race


 Saturday morning saw rain and wind but as road closure commenced, rain stopped, roads dried and the steely action began.

Jamie Hamilton aboard his KMR Kawasaki 600 took his maiden win in the Supersport race, 2.5 seconds ahead of Ballymoney man Seamus Elliott and set a new lap record at 108.32mph. Hamilton also took his first Irish Supertwin title and a new lap record of 102.90mph on the 3.6-mile circuit. 

 Skerries man Michael Sweeney secured the win in the hard fought 250cc race after Seamus Elliott retired and was awarded the Grand Final win after front runners Jamie Hamilton and Derek Shiels slid off. The Pair were doing battle in the race when the incident occurred. The red flag brought the racing to a halt. The result was then taken from the previous lap leaving Michael Sweeney the winner while Davy Morgan and Seamus Elliott took second and third place.


             Derek Shiels In action

In the Open race Dublin man Derek Shiels controlled the race to take a comfortable win aboard his CD Racing Kawasaki ahead of Hamilton and Elliott. 


              Paul Robinson winner of the 125cc class 


In the 125cc class Co Antrim man Paul Robinson from Ballymoney took the honors whilst Sam Dunlop and Nigel Moore took second and third. 


A big thank you goes out to the residents of Clough Village for the use of their property to enjoy the racing and take photographs at this meeting. 


                                              Indi on a burnout in the village 



                                        William Cowden getting it all wrong 



Race Results

1. Paul Robinson. 2. Sam Dunlop. 3. Nigel Moore.

1. Jamie Hamilton. 2. William Davison. 3. Nigel Moore.

1. Jamie Hamilton. 2. Seamus Elliott. 3. Sam Wilson.

1. Derek Shiels. 2. Jamie Hamilton. 3. Seamus Elliott.

Grand Final
1. Michael Sweeney. 2. Davy Morgan. 3. Seamus Elliott.




 Copyright © 2011 Captured Creations